How-To Geek https://www.howtogeek.com We Explain Technology Sun, 19 Aug 2018 17:37:49 +0000 en-us hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=4.9.5 Geek Trivia: In The Early 1980s, The U.S. Gaming Industry Lobbied For? https://www.howtogeek.com/trivia/in-the-early-1980s-the-u.s.-gaming-industry-lobbied-for/ Sun, 19 Aug 2018 17:37:49 +0000 Jason Fitzpatrick https://www.howtogeek.com/?post_type=trivia&p=362662 The Best Universal TV Remotes https://www.reviewgeek.com/6292/the-best-universal-tv-remotes/ Sun, 19 Aug 2018 12:00:36 +0000 Michael Crider https://www.reviewgeek.com/6292/the-best-universal-tv-remotes/

A universal remote is the go-to solution if you want to control everything in your entertainment center without juggling pieces of plastic. He…

Click Here to Continue Reading

]]>
Should You Buy a Smart Smoke Alarm? https://www.howtogeek.com/362745/should-you-buy-a-smart-smoke-alarm/ Sun, 19 Aug 2018 10:40:00 +0000 Craig Lloyd https://www.howtogeek.com/?p=362745 Geek Trivia: What Was The First Song Performed In Space? https://www.howtogeek.com/trivia/what-was-the-first-song-performed-in-space/ Sat, 18 Aug 2018 17:37:00 +0000 Jason Fitzpatrick http://www.howtogeek.com/?post_type=trivia&p=101097 Best Camera Straps for Every Need https://www.reviewgeek.com/6385/best-camera-straps-for-every-need/ Sat, 18 Aug 2018 12:00:41 +0000 Harry Guinness https://www.reviewgeek.com/6385/best-camera-straps-for-every-need/

The strap that comes with your camera sucks. It screams tourist, holds your camera awkwardly, and is just generally terrible.

Click Here to Continue Reading

]]>
The Best Cloud Gaming Services for Streaming Video Games https://www.howtogeek.com/362411/the-best-cloud-gaming-services-for-streaming-video-games/ Sat, 18 Aug 2018 10:40:00 +0000 Anthony Heddings https://www.howtogeek.com/?p=362411 Google Goggles Goes to the Grave, Long Live Lens https://www.reviewgeek.com/6580/google-goggles-goes-to-the-grave-long-live-lens/ Fri, 17 Aug 2018 15:57:33 +0000 Eric Ravenscraft https://www.reviewgeek.com/6580/google-goggles-goes-to-the-grave-long-live-lens/

Google Goggles has been around for years, but it hasn’t been updated since 2014. Until now.

Click Here to Continue Reading

]]>
The Best Backpacks For College Students https://www.reviewgeek.com/6180/the-best-backpacks-for-college-students/ Fri, 17 Aug 2018 15:00:37 +0000 Jennifer Allen https://www.reviewgeek.com/6180/the-best-backpacks-for-college-students/

If you’re off to college in the Fall, there’s a few critical must haves to pick up before you go.

Click Here to Continue Reading

]]>
How Multiple Nest Protect Smoke Alarms Work Together https://www.howtogeek.com/362863/how-multiple-nest-protect-smoke-alarms-work-together/ Fri, 17 Aug 2018 19:00:00 +0000 Craig Lloyd https://www.howtogeek.com/?p=362863 Geek Trivia: What Was The First Software Easter Egg? https://www.howtogeek.com/trivia/what-was-the-first-software-easter-egg/ Fri, 17 Aug 2018 17:37:00 +0000 Jason Fitzpatrick http://www.howtogeek.com/?post_type=trivia&p=100772 Which Game Console Is Best For The Budget-Conscious? https://www.reviewgeek.com/5981/which-game-console-is-best-for-the-budget-conscious/ Fri, 17 Aug 2018 12:00:48 +0000 Eric Ravenscraft https://www.reviewgeek.com/5981/which-game-console-is-best-for-the-budget-conscious/

Buying a console is more expensive than just the basic bundle package. How much does each one cost when you get everything you need for it, though?

Click Here to Continue Reading

]]>
Watch Free TV Online Right Now With Xumo.TV https://www.howtogeek.com/fyi/watch-free-tv-online-right-now-with-xumo.tv/ Fri, 17 Aug 2018 15:14:55 +0000 Justin Pot https://www.howtogeek.com/?post_type=fyi&p=363069 The Best Alternative Window Managers for macOS https://www.howtogeek.com/362100/the-best-alternative-window-managers-for-macos/ Fri, 17 Aug 2018 14:24:00 +0000 Justin Pot https://www.howtogeek.com/?p=362100 How to Set Up Whole House Audio Using Google Home https://www.howtogeek.com/362862/how-to-set-up-whole-house-audio-using-google-home/ Fri, 17 Aug 2018 13:00:00 +0000 Cameron Summerson https://www.howtogeek.com/?p=362862 How to Check if a Photo is Stolen https://www.howtogeek.com/362946/how-to-check-if-a-photo-is-stolen/ Fri, 17 Aug 2018 12:00:00 +0000 Harry Guinness https://www.howtogeek.com/?p=362946 How to Install the Same Printer Twice (With Different Settings) on Windows https://www.howtogeek.com/362957/how-to-install-the-same-printer-twice-with-different-settings-on-windows/ Fri, 17 Aug 2018 10:40:00 +0000 Chris Hoffman https://www.howtogeek.com/?p=362957 The Best Apps For College Roommates https://www.reviewgeek.com/6219/the-best-apps-for-college-roommates/ Thu, 16 Aug 2018 18:00:31 +0000 Jennifer Allen https://www.reviewgeek.com/6219/the-best-apps-for-college-roommates/

It’s important to be organized when you live with a roommate.

Click Here to Continue Reading

]]>
Here’s Why Your Third Party Twitter Client Broke Today https://www.howtogeek.com/fyi/heres-why-your-third-party-twitter-client-broke-today/ Thu, 16 Aug 2018 21:19:16 +0000 Justin Pot https://www.howtogeek.com/?post_type=fyi&p=362943 Do You Own a VR Headset? If So, It’s Probably Sony’s PSVR https://www.reviewgeek.com/6540/do-you-own-a-vr-headset-if-so-its-probably-sonys-psvr/ Thu, 16 Aug 2018 15:25:31 +0000 Eric Ravenscraft https://www.reviewgeek.com/6540/do-you-own-a-vr-headset-if-so-its-probably-sonys-psvr/

When we talk about VR headsets, we namedrop Oc…

Click Here to Continue Reading

]]>
The Best Bias Lighting For Your TV Or Desktop PC https://www.reviewgeek.com/6188/the-best-bias-lighting-for-your-tv-or-desktop-pc/ Thu, 16 Aug 2018 15:00:57 +0000 Michael Crider https://www.reviewgeek.com/6188/the-best-bias-lighting-for-your-tv-or-desktop-pc/

Bias lighting is a great way to subtly enhance the viewing experience of your living room TV or desktop computer.

Click Here to Continue Reading

]]>
Will the Nest Protect Still Work Without a Wi-Fi Connection? https://www.howtogeek.com/362600/will-the-nest-protect-still-work-without-a-wi-fi-connection/ Thu, 16 Aug 2018 19:00:00 +0000 Craig Lloyd https://www.howtogeek.com/?p=362600 Geek Trivia: The “10,000 Steps A Day For Better Health” Idea Originated With? https://www.howtogeek.com/trivia/the-10000-steps-a-day-for-better-health-idea-originated-with/ Thu, 16 Aug 2018 17:37:11 +0000 Jason Fitzpatrick https://www.howtogeek.com/?post_type=trivia&p=362809 The Best Wall Outlets With USB Ports https://www.reviewgeek.com/6282/the-best-wall-outlets-with-usb-ports/ Thu, 16 Aug 2018 12:00:52 +0000 Eric Ravenscraft https://www.reviewgeek.com/6282/the-best-wall-outlets-with-usb-ports/

How many of your devices can you charge with just a USB cable? And how many outlets in your house have USB ports?

Click Here to Continue Reading

]]>
How SNES Games Made Beautiful Music With Only 64kb https://www.howtogeek.com/fyi/how-snes-games-made-beautiful-music-with-only-64kb/ Thu, 16 Aug 2018 15:55:25 +0000 Justin Pot https://www.howtogeek.com/?post_type=fyi&p=362909 Mozilla Recommend a Privacy Extension That Is Tracking Your Web History https://www.howtogeek.com/fyi/mozilla-recommend-a-privacy-extension-that-is-tracking-your-web-history/ Thu, 16 Aug 2018 15:31:42 +0000 Justin Pot https://www.howtogeek.com/?post_type=fyi&p=362904 How to Convert MKV Videos to MP4 https://www.howtogeek.com/361973/how-to-convert-mkv-videos-to-mp4/ Thu, 16 Aug 2018 15:23:00 +0000 Anthony Heddings https://www.howtogeek.com/?p=361973 How to Use Wildcards When Searching in Word 2016 https://www.howtogeek.com/362551/how-to-use-wildcards-when-searching-in-word-2016/ Thu, 16 Aug 2018 14:24:00 +0000 Amelia Griggs https://www.howtogeek.com/?p=362551 How to Set Up Parental Controls on Chromebooks https://www.howtogeek.com/362757/how-to-set-up-parental-controls-on-chromebooks/ Thu, 16 Aug 2018 13:00:00 +0000 Cameron Summerson https://www.howtogeek.com/?p=362757 What Are the Different Metering Modes on My Camera And When Should I Use Them? https://www.howtogeek.com/362790/what-are-the-different-metering-modes-on-my-camera-and-when-should-i-use-them/ Thu, 16 Aug 2018 12:00:00 +0000 Harry Guinness https://www.howtogeek.com/?p=362790