How-To Geek https://www.howtogeek.com We Explain Technology Sun, 27 May 2018 10:40:00 +0000 en-us hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=4.9.5 Social Networks Are Great, But They’re a Terrible Place to Get News https://www.howtogeek.com/348393/social-networks-are-great-but-they%e2%80%99re-a-terrible-place-to-get-news/ Sun, 27 May 2018 10:40:00 +0000 Justin Pot https://www.howtogeek.com/?p=348393 Geek Trivia: The Odd And Rigid Positioning Of The Arms Often Seen After A Concussion Is Called The? https://www.howtogeek.com/trivia/the-odd-and-rigid-positioning-of-the-arms-often-seen-after-a-concussion-is-called-the/ Sat, 26 May 2018 17:37:38 +0000 Jason Fitzpatrick https://www.howtogeek.com/?post_type=trivia&p=353860 How to View and Improve Your Game’s Frames Per Second (FPS) https://www.howtogeek.com/353730/how-to-view-and-improve-your-games-frame-per-second-fps/ Sat, 26 May 2018 10:40:00 +0000 Chris Hoffman https://www.howtogeek.com/?p=353730 Water Leak Sensors: The Most Overlooked Smarthome Device You Probably Don’t Have https://www.howtogeek.com/352829/water-leak-sensors-the-most-overlooked-smarthome-device-you-probably-dont-have/ Fri, 25 May 2018 19:00:00 +0000 Craig Lloyd https://www.howtogeek.com/?p=352829 A Wild Series of Coincidences Made an Echo Eavesdrop, But It Probably Won’t Happen to You https://www.reviewgeek.com/4170/a-wild-series-of-coincidences-made-an-echo-eavesdrop-but-it-probably-wont-happen-to-you/ Fri, 25 May 2018 14:52:18 +0000 Eric Ravenscraft https://www.reviewgeek.com/4170/a-wild-series-of-coincidences-made-an-echo-eavesdrop-but-it-probably-wont-happen-to-you/

An Amazon Echo is in trouble for recording a conversation and sending it to a user’s employee.

Click Here to Continue Reading

]]>
Geek Trivia: A Heat Burst Is An Incredibly Rare Atmospheric Phenomenon Associated With? https://www.howtogeek.com/trivia/a-heat-burst-is-an-incredibly-rare-atmospheric-phenomenon-associated-with/ Fri, 25 May 2018 17:37:25 +0000 Jason Fitzpatrick https://www.howtogeek.com/?post_type=trivia&p=353759 The Best Must-Have Exclusive Games For the Nintendo Switch https://www.reviewgeek.com/3846/the-best-must-have-exclusive-games-for-the-nintendo-switch/ Fri, 25 May 2018 12:00:46 +0000 Eric Ravenscraft https://www.reviewgeek.com/3846/the-best-must-have-exclusive-games-for-the-nintendo-switch/

“Exclusive Nintendo game” is almost a redundant phrase, since most of Nintendo’s best games are the ones the company makes it…

Click Here to Continue Reading

]]>
Steam Link Isn’t Coming to iPad and iPhone https://www.howtogeek.com/fyi/steam-link-isnt-coming-to-ipad-and-iphone/ Fri, 25 May 2018 15:41:11 +0000 Justin Pot https://www.howtogeek.com/?post_type=fyi&p=353804 Instapaper and Some US Newspapers Are Blocked in Europe Now, Here’s How to Access Them Anyway https://www.howtogeek.com/fyi/instapaper-and-some-us-newspapers-are-blocked-in-europe-now-heres-how-to-access-them-anyway/ Fri, 25 May 2018 15:23:09 +0000 Justin Pot https://www.howtogeek.com/?post_type=fyi&p=353801 How to Stop Your Roku From Talking in Menus https://www.howtogeek.com/350416/how-to-stop-your-roku-from-talking-in-menus/ Fri, 25 May 2018 15:23:00 +0000 Chris Hoffman https://www.howtogeek.com/?p=350416 How Big Are Gigabytes, Terabytes, and Petabytes? https://www.howtogeek.com/353116/how-big-are-gigabytes-terabytes-and-petabytes/ Fri, 25 May 2018 14:24:00 +0000 Brady Gavin https://www.howtogeek.com/?p=353116 How to Force Reboot Your Oculus Go (When It Stops Working) https://www.howtogeek.com/351841/how-to-force-reboot-your-oculus-go-when-it-stops-working/ Fri, 25 May 2018 13:00:00 +0000 Lowell Heddings https://www.howtogeek.com/?p=351841 How to Change the Chat Background in WhatsApp https://www.howtogeek.com/352563/how-to-change-the-chat-background-in-whatsapp/ Fri, 25 May 2018 12:00:00 +0000 Harry Guinness https://www.howtogeek.com/?p=352563 What is the GDPR Privacy Law and Why Should You Care? https://www.howtogeek.com/353717/what-is-gdpr-and-what-does-it-mean-for-you/ Fri, 25 May 2018 10:40:00 +0000 Harry Guinness https://www.howtogeek.com/?p=353717 7 Accessories to Turn Your iPad into a Productivity Powerhouse https://www.reviewgeek.com/4001/7-accessories-to-turn-your-ipad-into-a-productivity-powerhouse/ Thu, 24 May 2018 16:00:02 +0000 Harry Guinness https://www.reviewgeek.com/4001/7-accessories-to-turn-your-ipad-into-a-productivity-powerhouse/

While iPads are still a way off replacing computers for everyone, they are incredibly capable devices.

Click Here to Continue Reading

]]>
How to Monitor Humidity Levels in Your Home https://www.howtogeek.com/352651/how-to-monitor-humidity-levels-in-your-home/ Thu, 24 May 2018 19:00:00 +0000 Craig Lloyd https://www.howtogeek.com/?p=352651 Amazon’s Map Tracker Lets You Obsess About Your Package Even More https://www.reviewgeek.com/4111/amazons-map-tracker-lets-you-obsess-about-your-package-even-more/ Thu, 24 May 2018 14:51:31 +0000 Eric Ravenscraft https://www.reviewgeek.com/4111/amazons-map-tracker-lets-you-obsess-about-your-package-even-more/

Amazon has been testing a feature that allows you to track your package on a map, and now the company is rolling it out widely to more users.

Click Here to Continue Reading

]]>
Use StumbleUpon One Last Time Before It Disappears Forever https://www.howtogeek.com/fyi/use-stumbleupon-one-last-time-before-it-disappears-forever/ Thu, 24 May 2018 17:59:02 +0000 Justin Pot https://www.howtogeek.com/?post_type=fyi&p=353699 Geek Trivia: The Only Region On Earth Where Scientists Have Found No Evidence Of Active Microbial Life Is? https://www.howtogeek.com/trivia/the-only-region-on-earth-where-scientists-have-found-no-evidence-of-active-microbial-life-is/ Thu, 24 May 2018 17:37:01 +0000 Jason Fitzpatrick https://www.howtogeek.com/?post_type=trivia&p=348519 The Best Cast-Iron Skillets For The Traditional Cooking Experience https://www.reviewgeek.com/3659/the-best-cast-iron-skillets-for-the-traditional-cooking-experience/ Thu, 24 May 2018 12:00:35 +0000 Jennifer Allen https://www.reviewgeek.com/3659/the-best-cast-iron-skillets-for-the-traditional-cooking-experience/

A cast-iron skillet is a commitment and involves care and attention, but it’s a valuable part of an avid chef’s arsenal.

Click Here to Continue Reading

]]>
Chrome Has a Hidden Password Creation Tool, Here’s How to Use It https://www.howtogeek.com/fyi/chrome-has-a-hidden-password-creation-tool-heres-how-to-use-it/ Thu, 24 May 2018 15:45:36 +0000 Justin Pot https://www.howtogeek.com/?post_type=fyi&p=353679 How To Change Your Gmail or Google Password https://www.howtogeek.com/352384/how-to-change-your-gmail-or-google-password/ Thu, 24 May 2018 15:23:00 +0000 Brady Gavin https://www.howtogeek.com/?p=352384 Modern macOS Is Now Older Than Classic Mac OS Was In 2001 https://www.howtogeek.com/fyi/modern-macos-is-now-older-than-classic-mac-os-was-in-2001/ Thu, 24 May 2018 15:17:12 +0000 Justin Pot https://www.howtogeek.com/?post_type=fyi&p=353673 What’s the Latest Version of iOS for iPhones and iPads? https://www.howtogeek.com/351912/whats-the-latest-version-of-ios-for-iphones-and-ipads/ Thu, 24 May 2018 14:24:00 +0000 Chris Hoffman https://www.howtogeek.com/?p=351912 Quickly Check Where Any Downloaded File Came From in macOS https://www.howtogeek.com/352923/quickly-check-where-any-downloaded-file-came-from-in-macos/ Thu, 24 May 2018 13:00:00 +0000 Justin Pot https://www.howtogeek.com/?p=352923